States that recognize the Idaho Standard Carry and Concealed Weapons License
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado (you must be an Idaho resident) , Florida, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky,
Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota,
Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wyoming.
States that recognize the Idaho Enhanced Carry and Concealed Weapons License
Nevada, New Mexico, South Carolina, Virginia, Washington (State)
States that DO NOT honor any Idaho Carry and Concealed Licenses:
California - Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Connecticut - Issues non-resident permits.
Delaware - Does not specify their reason for not honoring the Idaho CCW
Hawaii -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Illinois -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Maine - Maine has a “Good Moral Character” clause, meaning, an applicant must be free of any criminal charges for a period
of 5 years (e.g. DUI conviction). Idaho does not have this provision for its residents.
Maryland -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Massachusetts -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Minnesota - Requires a certificate of completion for any individual committed to a facility for the treatment of a chemical
dependency problem (e.g. DUI Alcohol Abuse); Idaho does not have this provision for its residents.
New Jersey -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
New York -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Oregon -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Pennsylvania -- Cites statutory provisions are not aligned with their state but fails to provide specifics.
Rhode Island - Does not offer any reason for not accepting Idaho CCW.
Vermont - Anyone can conceal carry in Vermont without a permit or license (Constitutional Carry).
Idaho Enhanced Carry and Concealed Weapons License Requirements
You may apply for an Idaho Enhanced Carry and Concealed Weapons License provided:
You do not violate Federal Gun Ownership Laws
You do not violate Idaho State Laws
You attend an advanced firearms course on safety and handling
You fire 98+ rounds in the presence of an Idaho Firearms instructor
You attend an Idaho lecture focused on firearms and the law conducted by an attorney, a member of the Idaho State
Bar, or a POST 3 firearms instructor.
To apply for an Idaho CCW license, you must provide the Sheriff department with proof of identification, a set of
fingerprints, agree to a federal and state background check, and pay the appropriate fees. New applicants can expect to wait
up to 90 days to receive their licenses; renewal time is much shorter.
Courses offered by Level 1 Firearms Safety and Training which meet the Idaho minimum firearm training requirements are:
To meet the legal lecture requirement, students can attend a separate class which occurs the third Saturday of each month.
Note: You are not required to attain any permit to possess a firearm in your home.
Most states, with very few exceptions, will honor the Idaho Enhanced Carry and Concealed License, Some states, such as
California will not, but then again, it’s California. Other states will not because the license covers all carry and concealed
weapons from knives and dirks to throwing stars and firearms. While other states will not honor the license because it does not
specifically state it’s a handgun license. Finally, some states, such as Oregon, do not have reciprocity agreements with other
states, but they allow non-residents to acquire a license.
The following map shows where the resident, Idaho Carry and Concealed Weapons License is permitted: