Copyright © 2014 by Level 1 Firearms Safety and Training  ·  All Rights reserved  ·  E-Mail: info@level1firearms.com

States that recognize the Idaho Standard Carry and Concealed Weapons

License:


Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Montana,
Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wyoming.

States that recognize the Idaho Enhanced Carry and Concealed Weapons

License:


Nevada, New Mexico, South Carolina, Virginia, Washington (State)
States that DO NOT honor any Idaho Carry and Concealed Licenses:
California - Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Connecticut - Issues non-resident permits.
Delaware - Does not specify their reason for not honoring the Idaho CCW
Hawaii -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Illinois -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Maine - Maine has a “Good Moral Character” clause, meaning, an applicant must be free of any criminal charges for a period of 5 years
(e.g. DUI conviction). Idaho does not have this provision for its residents.
Maryland -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Massachusetts -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Minnesota - Requires a certificate of completion for any individual committed to a facility for the treatment of a chemical dependency
problem (e.g. DUI Alcohol Abuse); Idaho does not have this provision for its residents.
New Jersey -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
New York -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Oregon -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Pennsylvania -- Cites statutory provisions are not aligned with their state but fails to provide specifics.
Rhode Island - Does not offer any reason for not accepting Idaho CCW.
Vermont - Anyone can conceal carry in Vermont without a permit or license (Constitutional Carry).
Copyright © 2014 by Level 1 Firearms Safety and Training  ·  Boise, ID · Meridian, ID · Nampa, ID · Caldwell, ID  ·  E-Mail: info@level1firearms.com
Call
208-957-6900
To schedule your next class or Home Safety Inspection

Idaho Carry and Concealed Weapons License



Overview of Idaho CCW Licenses



Idaho Carry and Concealed Weapons License verses the Idaho Enhanced Carry and Concealed Weapons License

There are two forms of the

Idaho Carry and Concealed Weapons License

:

Idaho - “Shall-Issue”



Idaho is a “shall-issue” state

, meaning, provided the applicant for either version of the

Idaho Carry and Concealed Weapons (Idaho CCW) license

completes the states minimum training requirements, is not a felon, has not been convicted of a crime punishable by more than a year in prison, has never been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence, is not under the courts control for a pending criminal matter or trial, does not have a current restraining order, has not renounced their U.S. citizenship, is not an illegal alien, a fugitive from the law, and is not deemed mentally incompetent; the applicant will generally receive their license within 60 days of their application (the sheriff has 75 days to complete the process). There may be other reason for the sheriff to deny your application but they must be based on Idaho state statues and restrictions-the sheriff cannot deny you because he doesn’t like the way to look or the way you act without significant, valid reason, and legal reason.

Idaho - “Open Carry”



Idaho is an “Open-Carry” state

, which means absent local city restrictions that do not violate the Idaho state statues, you may carry your gun in plain view. Plain view means it is easily identifiable as a gun which is not covered or concealed by any clothing. Any person over the age of 21 can carry their handgun in plain view, in a holster, or some other externally acceptable form of carrying method and are technically in compliance with the law.

We don’t recommend open carry for a variety of reasons, primarily because a lot of people are ignorant of guns, their safety features, and believe law abiding citizens don’t need to protect themselves when a criminal opens fire into a crowd-they believe the police can protect you at all times, no matter where you are or what you’re doing. Additionally, open carry invites one of these citizens to call local law enforcement to have you “checked-out”. It is perfectly reasonable to believe law enforcement will be called, you will be stopped and questioned, and a brief check for your right to carry a gun is valid. This is a reasonable expectation as law enforcement must ensure the safety of the public; a person carrying a gun in public, even though they have that right, should cooperate entirely when being questioned by law enforcement.

The Differences between the Idaho Standard CCW and Idaho Enhanced CCW



Both the

Idaho Standard Carry and Concealed Weapons License

and the

Idaho Enhanced Carry and Concealed Weapons License

applicants must appear at their local sheriff’s office, fill out an application, have their fingerprints taken, agree to a full background check by the State Police, and be free of any restrictions (many mentioned earlier) that would prevent them from owning a firearm.

Requirements for the Idaho Standard Carry and Concealed Weapons License



The standards are relatively low for acquiring an Idaho Standard CCW license. Applicants must attend a basic firearms safety class, a hunters safety course, been in the military, provide proof of formal competitive shooting, or provide other evidence to the sheriff the individual is familiar with the safe operation of a firearm.

Requirements for the Idaho Enhanced Carry and Concealed Weapons License



The standards for the enhanced license is raised significantly. In addition to the requirements of the standard license, the applicant must also receive

legal instruction

from a member of the Idaho State Bar association focused on federal, state, and local laws, the use of deadly force, and the sale, transfer, and transportation of firearms. Additionally, the applicant must demonstrate, in the presence of an Idaho recognized firearm instructor, the ability to fire 98 rounds of ammunition and demonstrate their ability for following basic firearm safety procedures.

Idaho CCW Classes offered by Level 1 Firearms Safety and Training



For the

Idaho Standard Carry and Concealed Weapons Course

:
For the

Idaho Enhanced Carry and Concealed Weapons Course

:
Note: All of the above listed classes require attendance to our separate Idaho Legal Instruction Class which is conducted by an Idaho Attorney and which held the third Saturday of every month. The Idaho Legal Instruction Class fees are separate from the firearm course fee.
Note: You do not need an Idaho Carry and Concealed Weapons License for personal home protection.

States which the Idaho Carry and Concealed Weapons License is accepted



Idaho honors all states which issue a concealed weapons permit to their citizens; however, not all states honor Idaho’s concealed weapons permit. Pictured below, the states in
red do not accept the Idaho Standard CCW License, states in yellow require you are a resident of Idaho, the states in blue honor the Standard License regardless.
Pictured below, the states in red do not accept the Idaho Enhanced CCW License.
RSS Feed
Idaho Enhanced Permit Classes
Google