The Colorado State Constitution grant citizens the right to carry concealed, however, it also grants legislators the right to create laws and requirements law-abiding citizens must meet before they are allowed to carry concealed. These requirements can be as simple as attending a basic pistol course (as it is today at the time of this writing) or they may expand the requirements to include live-fire exercises, legal instruction by an attorney, and other restrictions as legislators feel fit to impose.
"Shall Issue" State
A Shall-Issue state permits its residents to apply for, and receive, a concealed carry weapons license provided they do not fall under federal or state laws which would otherwise prevent them from purchasing a firearm. Idaho has very little state imposed restrictions and for the most part follow Federal guidelines. Attaining an Colorado Concealed Handgun License (the "technical " title) is extremely straight-forward, fairly easy to qualify for, and easy to understand. Colorado will only issue permits to Colorado Residents, in other words, if your state license is not recognized by Colorado, there is no way to obtain an "Out of State" or "Non-Resident" permit to carry within the State.
the applicant must attend a state recognized firearms training course or have been discharged from the military within the past 3 years. Specifically, the requirements are:
Must be a legal resident of Colorado or permanently stationed within the state if in the military.
2. Is 21 years of age. 3. Eligible to posses a handgun CRS 18-12-108
4. Has not been convicted of perjury while applying for a permit under CRS 18-8-503 5. Does not chronically use drugs or alcohol CRS 18-12-203 (1)(e)(I) 6. Completion of a handgun training class within the past ten years.
1. Complete an application. 2. Provide a copy of their training certificate or other documentation as previously listed. 3. Copy of their Colorado Drivers License (proving residency). 4. State ID Card or Passport photo. 5. Application Fee.
There are no
legal lecture requirements
to attain the Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit - CHP or as commonly referred to as the Colorado Concealed Carry and Weapons Permit (CCW).
Provided the applicant has fulfilled the requirements, they must appear at a Sheriff office (in their county if they are residents of Colorado; or their local police), submit their identification, fingerprints, pass a criminal background check (conducted by the Colorado State Police), submit certification of firearms training, and pay the appropriate fees. New candidates can take up to 90 days to process, however, the average at last check was closer to 60 days.
Colorado has, written into their state legistration, their own specific set of criteria for allowing (or disallowing) a person to purchase and own a firearm. These requirements come from the State Government Guidelines and consist of the following:
This portion of our web site is to provide a general overview of some of the most important gun laws that exist in our country and in the State of Colorado.
UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES THE DISCUSSION ON GUN LAWS IS TO BE INTURPRETED AS LEGAL ADVISE OR TO BE DEEMED LEGALLY ACCURATE.
CONTACT A LOCAL ATTORNEY IN THE STATE IN WHICH YOU RESIDE FOR A LEGAL OPINION AND INTERPRETATION OF FEDERAL, STATE, AND LOCAL GUN LAWS.
If you reside in Colorado or intend to apply for the Colorado Carry and Concealed Weapons License, Level 1 Training LLC has a class dedicated to the legalities of gun ownership which meets the state of Colorado requirements. Please contact us if you are interested in attending this class.
Colorado is a fairly moderate state when it comes to firearm ownership and the law. Article II, Section 13 of the constitution reads:
"The right of no person to keep and bear arms in defense of his home, person, and property, or in aid of the civil power when thereto legally summoned, shall be called in question; but nothing herein contained shall be construed to justify the practice of carrying concealed weapons."
Length of License:
Within 120 days of expiration
Emergency License Available:
Concealed Carry without License
It is a class 2 misdemeanor to carry a concealed weapon anywhere in the state of Colorado which is punishable by a fine of $250.00 to $1,000.00 and can include jail time between three months and one year or both.
It is a class 5 felony if convicted with 5 years of the first offense where the penalties range from $1,000.00 to $100,000 with jail time of one year to 18 months or both.
Motor Vehicle Transport
While in a motor vehicle, it is illegal to carry a firearm where ammunition is loaded in the chamber.
Issuance of License to Persons Under 21
The sheriff cannot issue a concealed carry license to anyone under the age of 21.
Persons Exempt from having to apply for an Colorado Carry and Concealed License
Current or retired law enforcement.
Colorado Prohibited Concealed Carry Locations
In addition to Federal laws, Colorado explicitly prohibits any person other than authorized law enforcement from carrying concealed in the following locations: A Courthouse, juvenile detention facility, adult correctional facility, prison, jail, public and private schools, on school property, at a stadium, or while using school provided transportation.
Drugs and Alcoho
It is unlawful to possess or carry any concealed weapon while under the influence of any drug or alcohol substance.
It is unlawful to operate a firearm in a careless, reckless, or negligent manner or without due caution and circumspection when such operation results in discharge and injury to any person.
It is unlawful to shoot from or across a public highway.
Leaving the Scene
It is unlawful to leave the scene of a shooting in which a person is seriously injured or killed unless there is a remaining threat to your life or person. If you must leave the scene to avoid further confrontation or risk to yourself you must contact law enforcement immediately when you are safe and the threat no longer exists.
Right to Revoke
The sheriff has the right to revoke a Colorado Carry and Concealed Weapons Permit under the following conditions:
(a) Fraud or intentional misrepresentation in the obtaining of a license;
(b) Misuse of a license, including lending or giving a license to another person, duplicating a license or using a license with the intent to unlawfully cause harm to a person or property;
(c) The doing of an act or existence of a condition which would have been grounds for the denial of the license by the sheriff.
Private Party Sales
Provided the firearm is sold between two Idaho residents and the person purchasing the firearm is not ineligible to purchase a firearm, there is no requirement to have the sale take place using a Federally Licensed Firearm Dealer.
Use of Another Persons Firearm
Provided all Colorado and Federal laws are complied with and provided the person using, borrowing, or renting the firearm is not ineligible to purchase a firearm, a person may use another persons firearm for lawful sporting or target shooting activities.
Those who are currently under a temporary or permanent protection order.
.CRS 18-12-203 (G)(I-III)
Unlawful users of certain depressant, narcotic, or stimulant drugs.The applicant is ineligitable to posses a firearem under Section 18-12-108. CRS. Or Federal Law.
Those adjudicated as mental defectives or incompetents or those committed to any mental institution. Idaho law provides additional information related to mental capacity in section 18-210, definition of mentally ill in section 66-317, and the definition of an incapacitated person in section 15-5-101 (a) of the Idaho code.The applicant has been convicted of purgery.
Anyone dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
Is ineligible to own, posses, or receive a firearm under any restriction imposed by state or federal law.
The sheriff may deny an appication if he believes the person could cause harm to self or others.
Call 303-815-6040 To schedule your next class or Home Safety Inspection