Call 208-957-6970 To schedule your next class or Home Safety Inspection
Nevada Gun Laws
This portion of our web site is to provide a general overview of some of the most important gun laws that exist in our country and in the State of Nevada.
UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES THE DISCUSSION ON GUN LAWS IS TO BE INTURPRETED AS LEGAL ADVISE OR TO BE DEEMED LEGALLY ACCURATE.
CONTACT A LOCAL ATTORNEY IN THE STATE IN WHICH YOU RESIDE FOR A LEGAL OPINION AND INTERPRETATION OF FEDERAL, STATE, AND LOCAL GUN LAWS.
If you reside in Nevada or intend to apply for a Nevada Carry and Concealed Weapons License, Level 1 Firearms Safety and Training has a class dedicated to the legalities of gun ownership which meets the state of Nevada requirements. Please contact us if you are interested in attending this class.
"Shall Issue" State
A Shall-Issue state permits its residents to apply for, and receive, a concealed carry weapons license provided they do not fall under federal or state laws which would otherwise prevent them from purchasing a firearm. Nevada has very little state imposed restrictions and for the most part follow Federal guidelines. Attaining a Nevada Carry and Concealed License is extremely straight-forward, easy to qualify for, and easy to understand.
Nevada Carry and Concealed Weapons License,
the applicant must attend a state or Sheriff approved firearms class, or a course offered by state, federal or local law enforcement, community college, university, or a national organization that certifies instructors in firearm safety.
The applicant must be 21 years of age.
The class must be at least 8 hours in length, cover basic pistol operations, self-defense subjects, and requires a minimum of 30 rounds to be fired at the range.
Provided the applicant has fulfilled the requirements, they must appear at a Sheriff office (in their county if they are residents of Idaho), submit their identification, fingerprints, pass a criminal background check, submit certification of firearms training, and pay the appropriate fees. New CCW candidates can take up to 45 days to process, however, the average at last check was closer to 30 days.
Nevada has several reasons where they can deny an application for a Concealed Carry Weapons License. Most of these are based on Federal lawswhile others have been based on Nevada Revised Statutes 202.3657 (4):
Nevada is one of the friendliest states when it comes to firearm ownership and the law. In fact, Nevada has a state preemption of firearms laws, meaning, the state constitution explicitly prohibits local government from regulating the ownership, possession, use, transportation or carry of firearms or ammunition within any city--however, the city may have a local ordinance for the discharge of a firearm within city boundaries.
NRS 244.364 (1)(b):
"The regulation of the transfer, sale, purchase, possession, carrying, ownership, transportation, storage, registration and licensing of firearms, firearm accessories and ammunition in this State and the ability to define such terms is within the exclusive domain of the Legislature, and any other law, regulation, rule or ordinance to the contrary is null and void."
Length of License:
Within 90 days of expiration
Emergency License Available:
Concealed Carry without License
You cannot carry concealed anywhere in Nevada; this includes your home and property.
Motor Vehicle Transport
While in a motor vehicle, you can have your firearm store in any bag, glove compartment, or utility box.
It cannot be concealed on your person without a Nevada Concealed Carry Weapons License
. If you have a holster, such as an outside the pants or in-the-waistband holster and anyone can tell you have a gun on your person, you can drive in your car under those circumstances.
Issuance of License to Persons Under 21
Nevada law states you must be 21 to receive a Nevada Concealed Carry Weapons Permit. NRS 202.3657 (4)(a)
Persons Exempt from having to apply for an Idaho Carry and Concealed License
We cannot locate information on this topic.
Carrying Concealed without a Valid License
Any person carrying a concealed weapon without a license is guilty of a
. NRS 202.350 (2)(b)
Idaho Prohibited Concealed Carry Locations
In addition to Federal laws, Idaho explicitly prohibits any person other than authorized law enforcement from carrying concealed in the following locations: A Courthouse, juvenile detention facility, adult correctional facility, prison, jail, public and private schools, on school property, at a stadium, while using school provided transportation or any public building located on airport property. Any building with metal detectors at each entrance which also has a "No Guns Allowed" sign posted.
Exemptions: Judges and prosecuting attorneys in the courthouse. NRS 202.3673
Drugs and Alcoho
A person may drink alcohol in Nevada provided they do not exceed a Blood Alcohol Concentration level exceeding 0.10%.
Endangerment - Brandishing
It is unlawful to operate a firearm in a careless, reckless, or negligent manner or without due caution and circumspection when such operation results in discharge and injury to any person. NRS 202.320
It is generally unlawful to shoot from or across a public highway, however, we cannot locate a specific state statute.
Leaving the Scene
It is unlawful to leave the scene of a shooting in which a person is seriously injured or killed unless there is a remaining threat to your life or person. If you must leave the scene to avoid further confrontation or risk to yourself you must contact law enforcement immediately when you are safe and the threat no longer exists.
Right to Revoke
The sheriff has the right to revoke a Nevada Carry and Concealed Weapons Permit under the following conditions:
(a) Fraud or intentional misrepresentation in the obtaining of a license;
(b) Misuse of a license, including lending or giving a license to another person, duplicating a license or using a license with the intent to unlawfully cause harm to a person or property;
(c) The doing of an act or existence of a condition which would have been grounds for the denial of the license by the sheriff;
(d) The violation of any of the terms of this section; or
(e) The applicant is adjudicated guilty of or receives a withheld judgment for a crime which would have disqualified him from initially receiving a license.
Private Party Sales
Provided the firearm is sold between two Nevada residents and the person purchasing the firearm is not ineligible to purchase a firearm, there is no requirement to have the sale take place using a Federally Licensed Firearm Dealer.
Use of Another Persons Firearm
Provided all Nevada and Federal laws are complied with and provided the person using, borrowing, or renting the firearm is not ineligible to purchase a firearm, a person may use another persons firearm for lawful sporting or target shooting activities.
Has an outstanding warrent for their arrest. NRS 202.3657 (4)(a).
Has been judicially declaed incompetent or insane. NRS 202.3651 (4)(b)
Has been committed to a mental institution within the past 5 years.
NRS 202.3651 (4)(C)
Unlawful users of certain depressant, narcotic, or stimulant drugs.
NRS 202.3651 (4)(d)
Has been convicted of a crime using force or the threat of force punishable as a misdemeanor in the past 3 years.
NRS 202.3651 (4)(e)
Has been convicted of a Felony.
NRS 202.3651 (4)(f)
Has been convicted of a crime of domestic violence or is currently under a restraining order.
NRS 202.3651 (4)(g)
Is currently on parole or probation.
NRS 202.3651 (4)(h)
Currently has a withholding of judgment in a felony or a suspension of sentence for a felony. NRS 202.3651 (4)(i)