Copyright © 2014 by Level 1 Firearms Safety and Training  ·  All Rights reserved  ·  E-Mail: info@level1firearms.com
Copyright © 2014 by Level 1 Firearms Safety and Training  ·  Boise, ID · Meridian, ID · Nampa, ID · Caldwell, ID  ·  E-Mail: info@level1firearms.com

States that recognize the Idaho Standard Carry and Concealed Weapons License


Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Montana,
Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wyoming.

States that recognize the Idaho Enhanced Carry and Concealed Weapons License


Nevada, New Mexico, South Carolina, Virginia, Washington (State)
States that DO NOT honor any Idaho Carry and Concealed Licenses:
California - Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Connecticut - Issues non-resident permits.
Delaware - Does not specify their reason for not honoring the Idaho CCW
Hawaii -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Illinois -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Maine - Maine has a “Good Moral Character” clause, meaning, an applicant must be free of any criminal charges for a period of 5 years
(e.g. DUI conviction). Idaho does not have this provision for its residents.
Maryland -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Massachusetts -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Minnesota - Requires a certificate of completion for any individual committed to a facility for the treatment of a chemical dependency
problem (e.g. DUI Alcohol Abuse); Idaho does not have this provision for its residents.
New Jersey -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
New York -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Oregon -- Does not offer a reciprocity agreement with any state.
Pennsylvania -- Cites statutory provisions are not aligned with their state but fails to provide specifics.
Rhode Island - Does not offer any reason for not accepting Idaho CCW.
Vermont - Anyone can conceal carry in Vermont without a permit or license (Constitutional Carry).
Call
208-957-6900
To schedule your next class or Home Safety Inspection

Idaho Carry and Concealed Weapons License



T
here are two Idaho Carry and Concealed Weapons Licenses available: The

Idaho Standard Carry and Concealed Weapons License

and the

Idaho Enhanced Carry and Concealed Weapons License

.

Idaho is a "Shall-Issue" state

, meaning, provided you are a law abiding citizen, the sheriff must issue you an Idaho

Carry and Concealed Weapons License

. There are certain legal restrictions which the sheriff may deny you a license, but those are legal reasons applied to everyone. Essentially, if you can purchase a firearm, you can get a concealed license. Extensive information is available under our

Idaho Standard Carry and Concealed Weapons License

and our

Idaho Enhanced Carry and Concealed Weapons license

class descriptions.

Idaho is an "open Carry" state

, which means any law abiding citizen who is over 21 years of age, who is not a person who would be denied the ability to purchase a firearm, and who would pass the normal criminal background check for a concealed weapon, can carry a weapon on their person, in public, provided the weapon is clearly visible and can be identified as a firearm.

While you can technically carry in plain sight, it is not advised. Many citizens are afraid of guns, ignorant of their safety features, and are generally ill informed or outright hate the thought a citizen can own and carry a firearm. If you do carry opening in public, be prepared (and fore warned) to be stopped and questioned by local law enforcement. Although you are not breaking any laws, you are potentially antagonizing others who are around you--law enforcement will want to interview you to ensure you are not a criminal, are legally allowed to possess a gun, and that you are not up to a suspicious activity. If you are approached by law enforcement, remember, they are doing their job to protect the public and to ensure public safety. Please cooperate with them--if you're willing to carry openly in public, you must be willing to act responsibly when you are stopped.

Applying for an Idaho Carry and Concealed Weapons License



Common Idaho CCW License Requirements



Every applicant must complete a basic

firearms safety course,

a hunters safety course, have past military training, or other proof they have had formal firearms safety instruction or training. Once this minimum requirement is met, the application must go to their local sheriff department with proof of training, complete an application for a license, submit their fingerprints, and agree to a full criminal background check performed by the Idaho State Police. There are a variety of relatively inexpensive fees which must be paid at the time of the application.

Idaho Enhanced CCW License Requirements



Applicants must meet the previously mentioned minimum requirements in order to qualify for the

Idaho Enhanced Carry and Concealed Weapons License

. In addition to meeting the minimum standards, applicants must attend a

legal instruction class

conducted by an Idaho Attorney, a member of the State Bar Association, or other qualified individual. The legal class delves deeply into Federal, State, and local laws, use of deadly force, and the process to transfer, sell, or transport a firearm in Idaho.

In addition to the legal instruction, applicants must fire 98 rounds of ammunition in the presence of an authorized Idaho firearms instructor, whose responsibility is to observe the applicant's ability to handle a firearm in a safe and efficient manner.

Applicants then submit a special application to the sheriff department which is signed by both the firearm instructor and the attorney who conducted the legal instruction class.


Classes Offered by Level 1 Firearms Safety and Training for the

Idaho Standard Carry and Concealed Weapons License



NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting Course



Level 1 Firearms Safety and Training Idaho Standard Carry and Concealed Weapons Class


Classes Offered by Level 1 Firearms Safety and Training for the

Idaho Enhanced Carry and Concealed Weapons License



Level 1 Firearms Safety and Training Idaho Enhanced Carry and Concealed Weapons Class



Level 1 Firearms Safety and Training Two-day Defensive Pistol Class



NRA Basics of Personal Protection in the Home Course (NRA PPITH)


NRA Basics of Personal Protection Outside the Home Course (NRA PPOTH)


Note: The classes meet the Idaho State Requirements for Firearms Safety Training and Handgun Firing requirements.

Students must attend the Idaho Legal Instruction Class

which is a separate class; not included with the firearms class instructions.

Idaho Reciprocity Maps



The following maps display the states where the Idaho

Standard Carry and Concealed Weapons License

is accepted followed by the map which displays where the

Idaho Enhanced Carry and Concelaed Weapons License

is accepted.

States in Blue will accept the license.

States in Yellow require the holder be a resident of Idaho
The states in Red do not honor the license
Idaho Enhanced Permit Classes
RSS Feed
Google